In many countries, students leave high school without learning how to manage their money. Why is that the case? What could be done to tackle the issue?

In several nations, pupils graduate from high school without expanding their knowledge about how to effectively manage their expenditures. In this essay, I will analyze the causes of this phenomenon and give feasible remedies simultaneously.

In terms of the reasons why this issue exists, the main one is students are lack financial education in their curriculum and focus on academic achievement. Deciphering this, students currently prioritize academic subjects over practical life skills, especially math, science, and language arts, which are considered to play a crucial role in standardized testing and college admissions. By contrast, financial literacy is recognized as less critical for a student’s life. As a result, a variety types of practical life skills like financial management are often sidelined. Besides, the second reason is insufficient teacher training. In light of this reality, lack of teachers who are adequately prepared to teach financial handling. As aforementioned, almost all teacher education programs typically focus on core academic subjects hence, leaving little room for training in financial literacy.

Regarding two legitimate solutions to tackle these reasons above, the first one is integrating financial education into the curriculum. In other words, the government needs to ensure that all students can receive basic financial education since they are high school students. Additionally, schools should make financial literacy a mandatory part of the curriculum such as considering it as standalone courses or integrating financial concepts into existing subjects. Secondly, training and resources can be provided for teachers. To be simplified, teacher training programs should include modules on financial literacy and ensure that educators are well-equipped to teach these subjects. Thus ongoing professional development opportunities which help current teachers stay updated on best practices in financial education.

To sum up, this essay mentioned both the reasons and solutions to the phenomenon of leaving high school without knowledge about managing the spending of students. By implementing these solutions, we can ensure that students are equipped with the essential skills needed for financial independence and success in their future lives.