In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

There are many nations around the world governed by leaders who prioritize developing the economy above all other fields. This pattern might enable the countries to upgrade their facilities and keep up with the globalization but at the same time, it not only jeopardizes the environment but also exposes the residents to the risk of indecent health care.

On the one hand, concentration on economic growth gives that nation the finance necessary to carry on new facilities constructions. Urbanization requires an enormous amount of funding, which is why many developing countries have not yet made it possible to access fundamental needs such as internet connection across the nation. By pouring more money into the construction of facilities required to provide these necessities, a country can accelerate the whole progress of globalization since people need a set of common standards to learn about others. For example, a person from an area with no internet connection can not form a connection with people overseas, which can be done easily via smartphones or personal computers all over the world.

On the other hand, the lack of effort put into other aspects but the economy might eat away the country from the inside. Blindly chasing after economic growth prevents the government from noticing the changes happening around them, such as climate change. Thus, they are likely to judge with an insufficient amount of information and therefore, make improper decisions. For instance, a country’s president might neglect the loss of forests in his country which comes along with disastrous consequences in the foreseeable future while pushing for a new economic policy. This concentration can also downgrade the healthcare system. Not being closely monitored by the government gives crimes the chance to play a trick on people who are desperately finding a cure for their diseases. For example, they can fake being a doctor and give people ineffective treatments.

In conclusion, over-focus on economic growth brings about both positive and negative impacts which are the acceleration of globalisation process and the risk of destroying the nation from the inside.