In many countries, the number of overweight children is increasing. What are the primary causes of this alarming trend? What actions can schools take to address this issue effectively?

Some people discuss that the growth of problems regarding young people with overweight features is rising over time. In my opinion, this problem may occur because of the changing lifestyle in modern life. To tackle this situation, there are 2 necessary steps that the government should take action.

The changing lifestyle in this modern world is undeniable, as humans are progressing and developing into a better quality of life with food. This is, however, sometimes not in alignment with the main purpose of lifestyle modification and the sense of satisfaction along with it. Instead of finding the true value of healthier options with meals, people are mesmerized by the creation in the culinary field. Nowadays, various desserts are born in a lot of forms of processed decorative materials. In fact, healthier meals mean real food, not merely the sophisticated carbs and sweets in the industry. Children are the younger generation who are often challenged by the beautiful flavours offered by sweets and confectionery. This issue is not only happening in such a small circle of youngsters, but perhaps in a wider range, which needs the lead from governmental policies.

Taking action from the perspective of the government, there should be some rules about daily food intake for children and limitation of nutrients in commercial food. Daily consumption of children should be managed based on their meal composition and the quantity of nutrients, including macronutrients and micronutrients. The quantity of children’s intakes each day should not exceed their energy expenditures. Furthermore, this idea should be in accordance with the next solution, which is targeting the food nutrient quality in the market. Not only should the government limit the nutrient composition in the labelled foods, but the government should also release the grading labels concerning healthier choices in various products, potentially preferred by most children globally.

To sum up, all the ideas above will eventually support the aim to minimize the number of overweight children when the government is involved in children’s intake recommendation.