In many countries, the proportion of older people in the population is increasing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend for society?

In today’s fast-paced world, many countries have the proportion of older people steadily increasing. While some view this demographic shift as a challenge, others see it as a sign of progress reflecting improvement in healthcare and quality of life. This essay will explore both the positive and negative effects of an ageing population.

On the positive side, older people are nowadays active contributors to society and very experienced people in social work and contribution. For example, old people are reliable and preserve some types of old traditions and festivals. Moreover, old people have a very strong mindset to overcome problems and help society well. Furthermore, older people have more ideas compared to new generation people. Older people are a base of a country’s growth and development for society.

On the other hand, the increment of older people population is more dangerous for a country’s future and development because old people do not have knowledge to deal with new technologies and innovative things. This is the major reason for countries’ future problems and difficulties in finding solutions. For example, older people have no idea how to use new generation technology, and because of this type of generation gap problem, a country’s growth is repetitively decreased. Furthermore, older people do not work in labour work and physical types of working professions.

In conclusion, while an ageing population brings some positive aspects such as potential experienced workers and increased economic activity in certain sectors, the negative effects are more pronounced. These include the strain on healthcare systems, labour market shortages, and the financial burden on pension systems.