In many countries, there is a growing trend of food waste at both the consumer and retail levels. What are the primary reasons for this problem, and what effective solutions can be implemented to minimize food waste?

It is argued that food wastage is often exacerbated by the lack of portion options in restaurants. This essay will examine how profit-driven motives lead to this issue and propose that government intervention and public awareness are the most viable solutions.

One major cause for this problem is that some restaurants do not offer different meal sizes. As a result, customers will not have the option to choose a meal that is sufficient for them. This is because some restaurants want customers to pay for the largest meal which will cost more, so they can maximize their profits. Consequently, customers will not finish the meal because it is more than what they need, so it will end up as a leftover.

The solution for this problem is that restaurants offer different meal sizes that fit everyone, and raise awareness among individuals about only buying the meal that suits their needs. As a result, people will only buy the amount of food they need. Therefore, governments need to implement laws that force companies and restaurants to adhere to this policy. Consequently, the amount of leftover food will decrease significantly and we will prevent food from ending up as waste because people will only order the best meal size for themselves.

In conclusion, while the pursuit of higher profits by restaurants contributes significantly to food waste, I believe that enforcing laws on meal sizes and educating consumers can effectively mitigate this problem to ensure a more sustainable and responsible food consumption culture globally