In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In modern time, residents living in metropolitan regions choose to stay alone or build a nuclear family rather than live with extended family in many nations. From my point of view, it is an overall positive development people to maintain the privacy as well as develop their independent capability.

The first reason for my belief is that staying alone or in small family can provide people with privacy and freedom. Particularly, there is less external involvement or judgement in your lifestyle from other family members. For instance, if you want to spend a huge amount of money on luxurious branded items, your parents or relatives cannot know it and refrain you from your preferred choice. Furthermore, you can have your own decisions regarding finance, parenting or career.

Secondly, moving out of extended family is the first step for people to go beyond your limits because there is no much protections and supports from your parents. It means that you must build a strong survival skill to deal with foresee obstacles including daily expenses, house chores, or unexpected accidents. Moreover, you have to be responsible for your own decisions and actions. For example, you have to make a detailed calculation about your financial ability before contemplating a house purchase in urban area, while you do not worry about housing if you stay with your parents. Your independence can be your success.

In conclusion, staying alone and in small family unit has an advantageous effect rather than extended family on people’s life. Young people who are willing to challenge themselves and improve their competency should step out of their comfort zone.