In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Globally, there are many countries where skilled people struggle to find employment and survive. In my opinion, this is due to non-ideally designed university education. Governments prepare people to work in one job for their entire lives. People take one profession and spend a lot of time only on theory, and it is possible that a PhD has no work, even if he devoted his life to science.

Just imagine three hundred of the smartest people on their path, but they can’t afford to get a job in their profession. They lead a miserable existence. It’s pathetic when a PhD in computer science works in a low-quality restaurant as a dishwasher, a waiter, or a cleaner. These jobs are also important. But if people lose their potential, their statement loses its strength. This is also known as talent underutilization.

I think this is unacceptable, and we need to solve this problem. In general, there may be many factors contributing to this problem, but let’s highlight the most significant ones. First, it is an outdated education system built under the influence of industrial revolutions, when highly qualified people with extensive experience were worth their weight in gold, which leads to the following. Secondly, it is a rapid change in the realities in the modern world, now the market needs fresh and not necessarily very smart people. Everything is already automated and the need for experts is lower than their number. Yes, they get paid a lot, but companies are not ready to hire a dozen people with the same specialty. For example: lawyers are a highly paid job, but due to the fact that it has become popular, the need for training has not increased proportionally.

In conclusion, the mismatch between education systems and labor market demands leads to unemployment and underutilization of highly skilled people. To prevent talent from being wasted, governments and universities must modernize education and better adapt it to current economic realities.