In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes? why is this happening? how should they be punished?

The crimes committed by young people have become more evident in contemporary times, as they are primarily influenced by, among other things, the media featuring prohibited actions, as well as the external pressure of unemployment and poverty. These lead to consequences that have to be penalized.

One of the main reasons why youth resort to criminal activities today is their excessive exposure to violent content about unlawful behavior due to its accessibility online. If a juvenile comes across videos containing belligerence towards others, especially their peers, with one side securing a victory, they intuitively perceive it as a way to assert themselves within a group. Taking into account that immature people with still-forming psyche often cannot control their emotions, their behavior is likely to lead to one going beyond the law, be it extortion, vandalism or pummeling. In this instance, the responsibility has to be taken either by their parents providing that they are still minors, or directly by themselves if they have already reached maturity. It could be achieved through full compensation such as payment for the victim’s treatment, or replacing the damaged possession with a newly purchased one.

Furthermore, another essential cause of adolescents’ offences is the acute job and life-related challenges they struggle with, namely the increasing unemployment and poverty levels. These obstacles are often brought about by worldwide financial crises, internal political instabilities, as well as societal disruptions. Significantly, young individuals are prone to encounter difficulties with seeking jobs as they lack experience, which highly competitive labor market demands nowadays. Consequently, youngsters are observed to get involved in shady affairs that are likely to have a detrimental effect on other people’s lives, as, otherwise, they would not sustain theirs. Occasionally, they become indirect partners in illegal businesses, contributing to them hiddenly, however, can be equally charged with a felony. Punishing them seems reasonable to stop companies thriving on people’s losses.

In conclusion, although the recent rise of young crime has been provoked by external factors such as unemployment, poverty, and media content, individuals still are bound by law, therefore have to bear responsibility.