In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion?

In many regions, there is a growing demand for new homes, but the only available land is the countryside. While some people argue that protecting rural areas is extremely crucial and suburban development must be forbidden there. I do not agree with this statement.

On the one hand, it is great people could have an opportunity to live near the countryside. The government should consider not only building new residential areas, but also new infrastructure. People who live in rural areas also want to enjoy facilities such as convenient bus routes that can reach the countryside, schools near their houses, shopping centres and grocery stores in their area. In this case, it is obvious that building houses close to the countryside is beneficial for expanding the city and improving living conditions.

On the other hand, suburban areas development may cause a wide range of ecological problems. A lot of rivers and lakes are located close to the countryside, building houses near the suburbs can pollute these natural water reservoirs. Furthermore, there should be space to build new resedential areas, construction companies can only get it by clearing forests to obtain land. This can lower the level of biodiversity and cause deforestation. In addition, it is crucial to mention that there are no bus lines that can reach the countryside in some regions, that is why the vast majority of people use cars to get home. Therefore, the air may become worse, because of the exhaust fumes.

To sum up, although constructing new houses in the countryside can provide people with better living conditions and help cities expand, the environmental consequences of such development can be serious. In my opinion, the government should find a balance between these two needs.