In many societies, traditional arts and crafts are struggling to survive due to globalization and mass production. Some people believe that governments should subsidize these traditional art forms to preserve cultural heritage. Others argue that market forces should determine their fate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In modern societies, the traditional arts and crafts are decreasing gradually, because of the widespread availability of other cheap goods. This essay will discuss whether such skills should be encouraged financially, even at the cost of other cultural innovations.

Personally, I believe that concerned authorities should invest more in developing such skills. These arts are important to maintain cultural identity and to become an intergenerational legacy. For instance, in my family we inherited a traditional dress from my grandmother’s mother. This dress is a constant reminder to the women in the bloodline of our origin, and no matter how far we travel because eventually, we know how to return.

However, governments should fund these projects equally, and spending money on traditional arts should not be at the price of other cultural activities. For example, cultural events, where people get to introduce their culture and exchange beliefs.

In conclusion, although investing in traditional arts and crafts is important to save our identity and origins, I think other cultural activities should not be neglected, and here where moderation plays a major role.