In most parts of the world, cities are becoming larger because people are moving there from the countryside Describe the advantages and disadvantages of living in cities

Urbanization has been rapidly increasing in recent years as people from villages are migrating to cities and as a result, urban areas are expanding vigorously. In this essay, I shall draw upon a number of studies from demographic transition unit and urban management department that reveal the positive and negative aspects of this phenomenon.

On the one hand, there are clearly reasons why people are moving to towns. This is because cities provide numerous job opportunities and offers you with accessible and convenient health and transportation facilities. For instance, high scale employment are only available in urban areas and also relatively more number of hospitals, clinics, paramedical, labs are accessible within lesser time limits in cities. As research from demographic transition unit concludes that the attracting part is the facilities people can enjoy more in cities than in countryside.

On the other hand, this trend of migration brings detrimental impact on job availability being the foremost consequence and then overcrowd, being the second which ironically contributes to various health hazards among the population in a city. This is mainly because overpopulation leads to high competition in job markets and results in scarcity. Similarly, overcrowdings significantly adds to different forms of pollution such as noise, air, water, soil, environmental pollution as a whole. This makes people to get exposed and suffer from various diseases, namely chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, tuberculosis, heart diseases and so on. For instance, Urban management department reveals that cities are overpopulated rising in the percentage of almost twenty five every year which made people in the urban unemployed gradually with nearly similar figures.

From the aforementioned pros and cons, it is clear that some people are overwhelmingly happy with the facilities they get while many are facing problems like job scarcities and are victims of numerous health hazards. Therefore disadvantages probably outweigh the advantages in near future.