In nearly all science courses at university, there are significantly more male students than female students. What is the reason for this? What could be done to balance out the numbers?

Although the number of female students enrolling in university increases year on year, there is a notable trend in which university courses, especially science subjects, that are taken by male students more than females. The main reason for this trajectory is the existence of established mindset in societies and a viable solution is to introduce early education applications.

There are a couple of reasons that can explain why fewer female students choose to study science. Firstly, many underdeveloped countries are ruled by male-dominated societies and these nations might have established mindset which is difficult to change. Most of the time, this embedded thinking might prevent females’ educational rights or involve their decision. For instance, in my country families take a role in their children education, suggesting that their daughters become teachers as they think having such kind of job is more convenient for them, regardless of their opinion. Secondly, the lack of female role models can be another reason limiting women choices. Hence, fewer visible female role models in science or engineering can result in fewer women inspiration, resulting in less ambition for women to pursue these careers.

A comprehensive solution is that trying to alter built-in mindset and then introducing early education interventions. Schools, universities, and society should work to dismantle gender stereotypes that associate men with science and technology and women with other professions. Encouraging girls to engage with science, technology, enginerring, and mathematics (STEM) subjects from a young age can foster their interest and confidence. Moreover, to increase the visibility of successful women in STEM careers can inspire young women to pursue similar paths through media, guest speakers, or mentorship programs.

To conclude, although the established mindset that restricts girls’ preferences in career paths, resulting in fewer women in science can be alleviated by introducing education practices and promoting female role models in science.