In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes that have occured? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

The last few decades have seen drastic transformation regarding the structure of family, coupled with family allocations. The differences include the trend towards nuclear families and a rise in women working as breadwinners. From my perspective, this tendency is tremendously advantageous.

In terms of family units, compared to the past, when members of an extended family used to live under the same roof, modern families lean towards nuclear families, including a spouse and children. This is a welcoming change because a large number of individuals with different lifestyles live in the same space can lead to a host of inconveniences and potential conflicts. For example, it could be annoying to share the bathroom with not only siblings but also cousins or even uncles. Similarly, it sometimes gets into arguments when to decide what TV channels to watch in the course of dinner time among family generations. By contrast, if people resided in nuclear families, each member can use these amenities at their convenience.

With regard to family delegations, the most noteworthy change is the increasing financial contribution of women. Unlike many years ago, husbands were still income earners in multiple households, while wives were tasked with childrearing, cooking, and running errands. This trend is opposite in contemporary society where both spouses enter the workforce to make a living, and in some cases, husbands opt to step back to become a stay-at-home father, whereas their counterparts join the labor force to become the sole money makers. This change is also worth welcoming, as it fosters gender equality in both education and workplaces. Once more men take over responsibilities that used to belong to women, they can develop greater appreciation for the roles which mothers and wives hold.

In conclusion, the switch away from extended families to nuclear ones and the growing significance of women in a multitude of households are two key changes in today’s work, and I feel that this phenomenon is deemed wholly beneficial.