In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

There are a growing number of companies moving their businesses outside metropolitan areas into more remote, rural locations. Although there are a number of advantages to this trend, I believe that they are outweighed by a number of disadvantages as will now be explained.

On the one hand, it can be said that there are some benefits to companies that decide to open their premises in regional areas; there is a significant decline in the costs that are certainly higher in the big cities. In addition, more rural areas offer businesses more space. This trend also helps boost economies in deprived areas; many job opportunities are created in the more remote areas meaning that the standard of living improves for those who would otherwise have a long commute to work or not have a job at all. Moreover, pushing companies into more remote areas helps cities avoid further overcrowding which is a common problem in many major cities.

On the other hand, it can be argued that there are significant drawbacks to companies and businesses moving their venues outside big metropolises as the availability of skilled workers is being reduced. In addition, it can be said that companies based in regional areas are further away from their clients, providers and other contacts and this has certainly a negative impact on the volume of sales, businesses done and markets reached in comparison to companies that are located in the city centers or more populated areas.

To sum up, it seems that there are significant advantages to businesses opening in more remote areas, especially in terms of lower costs and availability of space; however, they are outweighed by the material advantages of businesses located in more populated locations because of the opportunities bigger cities can offer.