In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Every day, thousands of businesses are established, which are densely populated around big city centers. To cope with this, governments of countries take lots of initiatives to encourage those businesses to relocate to the more regional areas. From my perspective, this shift certainly lifts the burdens from the shoulders of the big cities’ infrastructures and the businesses themselves.

Firstly, moving to less densely populated areas is more economical for businesses since those areas provide more space to use at a much more reasonable price. In big cities, with a large number of residents and companies, the demands for rentals are astronomical compared to the scarce supply. This leads to staggering high rental fees in big cities. For companies who need spacious areas to produce and sell physical products, they would be charged a huge amount in central cities. Therefore, shifting production away from those areas is the only rational choice. Take Vietnam as an example, in metropolitan areas such as Hanoi capital, there are no industrial zones to be spotted, most of those giant factories and plants are built in less crowded cities around Hanoi such as Hai Duong and Hung Yen. From these examples, we can see that these practices have been widely adopted and also proven to be effective.

Secondly, the infrastructure of big cities could also benefit from this shift. Urban areas are now overcrowded with people flocking there for education and employment opportunities. Each of those people requires their basic needs to be properly satisfied such as a place to live, a school to attend, and a hospital to take care of their health. If big cities remain the destinations of immigrants, the public infrastructure will soon become insufficient. Apartments will running out of flats, hospitals will run out of beds and schools will run out of classrooms to take in students. This has become evident during COVID-19 pandemic, where big metropolitans have to handle a large amount of patients. Many lives could have been saved had it not been for the lack of facilities to cater for everyone. Overall, the transition to less crowded areas could greatly benefit big cities.