In some countries, it is possible for people to have a variety of food that has been transported from all over the world. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

These days, most of the nations have an opportunity to access to variety of food from all parts of the world, thanks to the technology. This pervasive phenomenon has a detrimental impact on the environment. Therefore, I believe the drawbacks of this trend outweigh the minor benefits.

To begin with, if governments just rely on domestic products and don’t allow exterior crops imported, it will lead to food shortage when their crops fail. For example, in the late 80s in Japan, the local government posed a law in imported rice, in favor of domestic farmers. This caused a difficulties for residents because the local farmers weren’t able to produced the amount of rice, which was adequate due to last year’s floods and people didn’t know how to replace the rice food. However, after this tragedy, the authorities of Japan, allowed imported crops such as oats and Thai rice, which helped citizens to over come the crisis. Hence, importing food from other countries is a sufficient way in a lack of crops situation.

Moreover, the transportation from all parts of the world involves a long distance. this long-distance transportation is one of the main reasons of air pollution and green emissions, which contribute to global warming. In other words, the export and import food often happened through ships and trucks, which require a huge amount of fuel, these fuels will generate carbon dioxide and greenhouses emissions. If people want to have a variety of food from all over the world, it is easy to just imagine how this transportation have a massive impact on climate change.

In conclusion, I believe the disadvantages outweigh advantages due to an adverse effects happen on the environment.