In some countries, many people continue to live with or very near their parents even when they are married and have their own children. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

It is becoming ubiquitous to live with parents in all parts of the world. In many countries, people prefer to live with their parents even after they get married and have children of their own. In this essay, I will discuss what I think are the two main benefits that can be gained from living next to parents, as well as some of the drawbacks of this culture.

One of the primary disadvantages of having parents nearby is that financial burden, which causes tension among family members. In this modern world, living with parents requires additional expenses such as medical bills, caretakers payments, extra space and clothing. If, for instance, elderly parents have diabetes along with heart issuses, children have to earn double to meet the requirements; otherwise, if these expenses did not meet the planned budget, it would cause turmoil among the family. Another drawback is the differences between step-parents and step-children. Usually, the differences between step-mothers and step-daughters rise due to many reasons as they contradict with each other, which upset the atmosphere of the family. This clearly highlights the disadvantages of having parents nearby cause tension among family members.

Despite these drawbacks, there are some notable benefits associated with living close to parents. A key benefit is that the grandchildren can understand the importance of family. Extended family, such as living with grandparents, teaches children the value of family, how members of a family should be respected, and loved. Living next to grandparents also benefits the parents, especially, when both of them are employed. In India, for example, many parents leave children in the care of grandparents so that the parents can be free of worries about the safety of children. This demonstrates that having elderly people nearby has many advantages to children, which is essential for the growth of young children.

In conclusion, while living next to one’s parents has several disadvantages such as financial burdens and differences, it also has many advantages for having an extended family. It is, however, important for the growth of children.