In some countries, more young adults continue to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, living with parents as an adult has become more common in some cultures. Although this trend may have some disadvantages, I believe its benefits are enormous.

On the one hand, adults living with their parents may experience a prolonged period of immaturity. This is because they are usually exempt from doing mundane tasks such as doing laundry or preparing meals. Consequently, they are likely to depend on their parents and have trouble developing the capacity for self-reliance that is essential for personal and career success. It will be more difficult for them to make their own well-informed, responsible decisions. Moreover, many helicopter parents, who closely monitor every aspect of their children’s lives, might fail to guide their children to evaluate every option and prevent their children from taking opportunities in their lives. As a result, this will prevent children from leading a self-sufficient life.

On the other hand, living under the same roof can be a significant advantage for parents and their children. It can help ease the burden of various expenses like accommodation, food, and transportation costs for young adults. Young people, with financial support from their guardians, can save their money for their own needs and goals, instead of worrying about how to manage their expenses. In addition, parents may also have better care while they live with their children. Old people living alone can be dangerous because they might suddenly have some emergency health problems that will get serious without timely help. For example, there are some sad cases that alone old people bodies can only be discovered days after their death.

In conclusion, after meticulously discussing all the aspects of this phenomenon, it is evident that mutual support among family is more predominant than being independent. In the wake of the above-mentioned causes, the demerits of this behaviour are outweighed by its merits.