In some countries, more young adults continue to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some countries, the number of adults living with their parents after finding and completing their education is on the rise. While there are potential advantages—financial and emotional support—to living with parents for adults, I believe downsides will far outweigh these upsides.

On one hand, adults can have several opportunities by continuing their lives with their parents. Financial security is one of the most notable benefits. A good case in point: adults with their family members can set aside money for the future by avoiding unnecessary allocation of money to properties by living alone. Emotional support is another upside to leading a life with parents. This, in turn, can help adults to value each other by supporting and solving issues together. As a result, they continue to strengthen their family bonds together.

However, I believe that disadvantages such as lack of independence and potential conflicts can have more significant consequences. One of the common issues faced by adults living with members is lack of independence. Dependency on family members especially can hinder full adulthood. This often happens when they fail to learn skills such as household management and budgeting. Another, yet universal, challenge when living with parents is the likelihood of conflict. For instance, the disagreement over household rules and personal choice can lead to conflicts among family members.

In conclusion, while there are some benefits to sustaining a life with parents with financial and emotional help, I think disadvantages—family conflicts and lack of independence—can far exceed these benefits. Therefore, parents should leave their children to their own devices.