In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In many parts of the world, consumers increasingly drive cars to huge out-of-tow markets instead of small shops in the town center. In my opinion, this phenomenon, despite being somewhat disadvantageous, can bring about more significant benefits.

Admittedly, the tendency to shop in out-of-town supermarkets can be problematic to some extent. The first reason is that small town-center shops are going out of business, which negatively affects the financial situation in the area. As a consequence, the local economy can face an increasing strain on this economic crisis, forcing the government to tackle and provide proper solutions. Additionally, as the demand for traveling to distant areas is growing up, people tend to use cars frequently, which may lead to air pollution on the used routes. If people replace using cars with public transport, they might cost a lot of time and become dependent on it.

However, I believe the advantages of purchasing goods in super stores out of town are more pronounced. One of these is that the real estate prices in outlying areas are significantly lower than in town centers, which may reduce overheads for business. Therefore, customers usually earn dirt cheap products here. Another reason worth mentioning is that large stores always offer their customers a wide range of goods in one place, making shopping more convenient. For example, families can buy clothing, groceries, household appliances, and electronics in a single place, reducing the effort of visiting multiple smaller shops. Finally, the trend towards driving to outlying areas means lowered traffic volumes, resulting in a decrease in traffic jams in areas in town.

In conclusion, although there are certain negative aspects, such as declining local economy, extending air pollution and dependence on public transport, I am convinced that it offers more substantial benefits, including lessening the citizens’ cost of living, traffic congestion and enhancing shopping convenience in town-center areas.