In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Young people across the globe are choosing vocational training program instead of regular university as their tertiary education. I believe the advantages of going to vocational school neither outweigh or could be outweighed by traditional university.

There are several advantages that are only available to those who attend a vocational school. First, the learning activities are mostly through practical learning which make the learning process more fun and enjoyable. Second, the learning process is not as long as the one they have in regular university, one could finish their program in 6 months or 3 years maximum depending on what course they took. Another reason is that almost every vocational school require their students to go on a on-the-job trainning, which will allow the pupils to better understand the work culture before entering the real work. That is why, most people that chose this path of education are ones that already know what they want to do soon after graduation.

However, there are a few drawbacks to those who prefer vocational training instead of going to a regular unviversity. Those who attend normal university have more options when it comes to job opportunities; as an example those who took a cooking class can only work in a kitchen, meanwhile a university student majoring in foreign language could work as a school teacher, an interpreter, or even the embassy. Another disadvantage is due to their short period of study, university students would most likely to have a better social life, thus creating a better connection once they graduate and needed a job.

In conclusion, both work-based program and university have their own pros and cons. Much consideration needs to be paid before choosing which tertiary education they want to attend to.