In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the past few years, a tendency has been on the rise in which parents opt for homeschooling their children rather than enrolling them into an official school. In my opinion, this movement is a net negative.

Granted, proponents of homeschooling believe that it can create a safer environment for children to develop, where they are safeguarded from bullying and peer pressure. In other words, weaker children are not harmed by more dominating and violent ones, and there is no peer comparison among them. However, this way of thinking fails to consider that those in favor of homeschooling have to go the extra mile to supervise their children. This is especially mentally and physically taxing given that parents often have their professional lives to balance. Apart from such parental pressures, it cannot be denied that students in their formative years attend school to make friends and cultivate interpersonal skills. As a result, homeschooled children are likely to be deprived of this paramount benefit, which may lead to more trouble in the future for them to communicate with others and integrate in any social setting. Regarding the concern of bullying, while this is undoubtedly happening, it is far from being the norm. Thus, teaching children self-defense and actively communicating with them can help to address the problem early on.

In addition to the perception of homes being a safer educational environment, advocates of homeschooling mention the potential to save significant costs that would otherwise incur if their children were admitted into formal schools. For example, as parents function as educators, children do not have to travel to school, as well as pay for teachers and facilities. However, in order to teach children, parents would have to equip themselves with pedagogical skills and specialized knowledge in different subjects such as Math and English. This necessitates a considerable investment in a wide range of courses, which are just as costly. Another compounded drawback is the consequence on parents’ jobs. When a child is around, parents either will not be able to work or will suffer from frequent distractions that take a serious toll on their work productivity. As a consequence, parents’ means of making income to support their families suffer. Even though some families can avoid this with personalized tutoring, such a service is even more expensive than official schooling. Therefore, the notion that homeschooling is more economical is unjustified.

In conclusion, while homeschooling theoretically brings some benefits including a safer environment and lower educational costs, in practice it poses significant challenges. These engender negative impacts on both parents and children, thereby tipping the balance against homeschooling.