In some countries worldwide, men and women have children at a later age than in the past. What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

Modern married couples in many nations tend to have babies at a later age compared to older generations. This essay explains this phenomenon and argues its societal and familial implications.

Increased cost of living and raising a baby is one of the reasons why men and women delay giving birth, especially after the pandemic. With inflation causing the cost of groceries, utilities, transportation, education, healthcare, and housing to skyrocket, having young children turns into a financial burden for many households. Additionally, governments have not implemented enough pro-family policies such as child tax credits, paid maternity leave, and paid paternity leave to give mothers and fathers additional time and financial resources to take care of their children. Another factor disincentivizing having children earlier is stress and lack of personal time. With increased demand from employers, some adults prioritize taking care of themselves over bearing more responsibilities as parents outside of work.

The trend of couples choosing not to have children early positively and negatively affects families and our society. Married men and women can spend more child-free years building financial stability by securing high-paying jobs and buying a house, ensuring their future children can enjoy any resources beneficial to their all-around growth. However, couples choosing to have children at a later age will lead to a reduced workforce—a reduction in the number of future workers and taxpayers. A reduced workforce happens simultaneously with an aging population, leading to stagnant economic growth and an extensive burden on social programs like social security and social insurance.

In conclusion, many reasons explain why men and women opt for more child-free years. While married couples may choose this lifestyle to ensure their children can flourish, its long-term implications can be problematic.