In some countries young people have little leisure time and are under a lot of pressure to work hard on their studies. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, youth in some parts of the world are facing a stressful study environment that costs them to lose some of their free time to relax and enjoy themselves. There are two conditions that may create such a result; however they can easily be solved if all parties have willingness to work on the solutions given.

First condition that makes it possible for youth to be stressful at their study is because some school systems and curriculums are designed to limit students’ access to explore their own hobbies and passions. Some schools have a very dense schedule of whole weeks to study and also give a lot of homeworks for their students. Surely, it cuts off students’ extra time to relax, both at school and home. For instance, some schools in China even erased their extracurricular activities to prepare the pupils more for the final exams. This is extremely harmful for young people who by nature are curious to explore many things in their free time.

Another condition that makes some youth feel under pressure to study hard and limit their free time is because of family expectation. In some developing countries, where the number of family members are uneducated, the only children who have the chance to be educated at schools are having higher expectations from their family. Their chances to study are seen as the only hope to support their family in the future. Therefore, this puts pressure on their shoulders that makes them study hard and do not bother to think about their own dreams and passions, even to have some relaxation time.

In sum, the two conditions can be solved easily if all the parties, from school board and parents, are willing to transform the curriculum and their own expectations and put more attention on the mental health of their children, the young generation of their countries.