In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often stated that it is impossible to fail if the person gives their 100%. This proves decisive especially when children embark upon new challenges in life. However when children are taught to think this way it might lead to overestimation with possible unearned ego.

Possible upside of propagating the value of hard work among children is immense, especially considering their life stance of possible future occupation or education. When they avoid negative thinking failure, they live up to their fullest potential whether choosing rewarding career or life-enriching academic path. Whether it is overcoming exam difficulties, requirements for career ladders or just plain life matters, those who think they will overcome usually do.

On the downside, thinking hard work will inevitably lead to success all of the time might be delusional. There are instances where jobs were chosen not because of sheer talent or skill but other motives, especially financial or societal pressure. This unfortunately leads to millions of so “professionals” who don’t enjoy or profess at their job, simply because they were they can achieve any if they try hard enough. No wonder modern day problems such as stress or even depression, and in some increasingly prevalent cases suicide are hypothetically linked with contemporary sense of competition or hustle culture.

To conclude, parents and teachers should balance the effects of stating of inevitable success due to hard when talking to children. Because it has some advantages and disadvantages.