In some societies the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

In certain societies, the rate of adolescent crime is rising, and some people believe teenagers who are convicted of severe crimes ought to be punished in the same way as adults. In my opinion, it is a good idea to choose the same sentence for teenagers, since it is fair and will help to prevent the further growth of crime rates.

Firstly, if young people receive adult punishment, it makes it less likely for them to commit new crimes, which is helpful for preventing crime rates from growing. For instance, those who committed crime once are likely to commit it the second time, even if they were punished. It is especially relevant for adolescents, as they often tend to have troubles with critical thinking and decision-making, which results in them making poor choices.

Secondly, it is fair. I believe that if you are old enough to commit a crime, then you have reached that age when you are ready to be responsible for your actions. For example, most of the time family relatives of victims of crimes or victims themselves look for justice and want to get a revenge. To make sure that no other crimes would be committed, it would be better for the criminals to receive a punishment they deserve in order for the victims’ relatives not to choose a punishment for criminals themselves.

In conclusion, choosing adult punishment for teenagers is better, because it prevents the level of crime from increasing and can be considered fair for everyone.