In some societies the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

In some countries, the number of juvenile delinquents is rising. Therefore, some people think that criminal-teenagers should have the same sentences with adult punishment. Hence, this paragraph will discuss why I believe this statement to a maximum extent.

Convicting children with the same as older people has some demerits. First, heavy punishment can make teenagers suffer from some mental issues. For many child criminals, their nervous system is not fully-developed so that their illegal acts are just outburst behavior at that moment. For example, Osama Bin Laden, who is well-known for killing by accident, is convicted with 5 years in jail. When he was released from prison, he faced depression problems which made him difficult to rehabilitate. As a result, these sentences can make these types of offenders have more long-term psychological effects in the future.

The advantages for children of a heavy sentence outnumber the disadvantages. These punishments are a deterrent for other young people. This disciplinary action can raise the awareness of children for a consequence or a severe penalty if people have an idea of breaking the law. For example, in Brazzaville, when the administration decided that children must have the same punishments as adults, the rate of juvenile offenders witnessed a significant decrease. Consequently, this policy can deter children which decline their criminal tendencies. Moreover, many young criminals deserve the similar punishment with older people. Some offenders commit

serious crimes such as murder, fraud which are impossible to rehabilitate. To cite an example, Zung, who killed 40 classmates, after many trials, the judge said that he did not have any chances of rehabilitation and convicted him a death penalty. As a consequence, heavy punishment can decrease the criminal rate which leads to a safer society.

In conclusion, by having the same punishment system as adults, young people can raise their perception about the illegal works which help them to avoid committing an offense.