In the 21st century, many companies allow their employees to work from home. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

Recently, the concept of working without leaving dwelling has gained popularity. The infamous lockdown caused by COVID-19 made this option unavoidable for most companies. While this may be desired by some workers, the potential negatives seem more significant in comparison.

One upside when working from home is that people don’t waste their time getting from home to work and vice versa. Without wasting their valuable time in traffic jams and public transportation, employees can manage this time more efficiently, for example, by doing exercises which helps to stimulate the brain functions during the office hours. Not working on-site, some individuals feel more relaxed and comfortable as they won’t be disturbed by possible noise and talks that may occur in the office.

However, from my perspective, this kind of isolation is not suitable for everyone. Having their family members at home, the employees won’t be able to completely focus on their tasks and will be frequently disturbed, unlike in office. Working from home prevents you from going outside for significant amount of time and causes sedentary lifestyle. This will result in certain health issues associated with spine, neck and back. Finally, sitting at home all the day in front of a computer, a person can quickly get fed up of such a monotonous routine.

To conclude, although working from home is a widespread tendency across the world at the moment, the fact that it has major drawbacks prevents it from being a perfect way of balancing the time spent at home and work.