In the future, artificial intelligence will replace most human jobs. This will lead to a better society for everyone." To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, there has been widespread concern among the public about the role of future technology. In fact, it is assumed that artificial intelligence will take the place of human jobs in the future. From my perspective, I partly disagree with this viewpoint as most human occupations can not be successfully undertaken by artificial intelligence.On the one hand, modern technology is developing so rapidly that it can take charge of some human jobs. Artificial intelligence and robots seem indefatigable and more efficient than human labors in terms of mass production. Hence, it can be seen that in many sectors, especially those with dangerous and monotonous manufacturing activities, most of their production power comes from automated machines instead of humans. For instance, car manufacturing, which entails frequent chemical exposure and repeated assembly activities, has incorporated advanced technology into its production line, thereby downsizing its personnel and at the same time, many related exorbitant costs covering insurance and training.

Conversely, artificial intelligence fails to interpret emotions as well as people. Certain domains necessitate direct interaction between humans. For example, during psychological treatment, robots can only be used to deliver medicines and stand in for doctors when they are away. Doctors’ roles, including providing emotional advice and soothing patients, are irreplaceable as they are out of robots’ reach. In addition, technology often lacks originality. Artificial intelligence is pre-programmed, so its lines of thought and motion are rigid and much less flexible than human minds. Therefore, they can hardly come up with creative ideas, which impoverishes the company’s freshness to customers. Humans’ flexible brains here come into play, exemplified by the devising of new marketing tactics or innovation of unprecedented products.

In conclusion, though admittedly technology is powerful in almost every sector, it is just an assistant. I firmly believe that given humans’ authenticity and creativity, their roles are irreplaceable.