In the past, important knowledge about history and culture was stored in museums. However, today, people can see everything on the internet without paying any money. Therefore, we no longer need museums. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The rapid advancement of the internet has ushered in an area where almost all information, particularly historical and cultural knowledge, is easily accessible on the internet. One school of thought holds that this renders traditional museums obsolete. While acknowledging the benefits of the internet, I firmly believe that museums will remain irreplaceable.

Perhaps the main reason why museums are still important is because they provide visitors with a sensory experience, which the online version cannot provide. Visitors to the museum can walk around the exhibits and look at them from different angles; they can appreciate size and scale; they can see the textures and details of an object; and MOST IMPORTANTLY, they can feel something real. This is something that is not possible just by staring at a screen. Museums have the musty smell of old buildings; they are silent and quiet, like libraries; and they are a place to slow down, escape from the world and think about bigger things.

Museums not only provide a sensory experience, but also provide a social experience too. Visiting a museum website is something we tend to do alone, but visiting a real museum can become a fun day out with friends or family. For example, museum visitors can talk to and interact with a museum guide; they can discuss the exhibits with each other; they can often take photos to save a happy memory; and they can maybe even have a small picnic in the museum canteen.

But the benefits that museums provide are not only for visitors. They are also important for other reasons. They are safe places to keep valuable artifacts and prevent them from being lost or damaged. They are centers of research for archaeologists, historians, and other academics. They are often tourists’ attractions and as such they provide jobs and contribute to the local economy. And finally, they are culture centers which preserve the traditions and cultural identity of a country. These are things that the online version cannot offer.