In the past, people used to travel to see the differences from their home country. However, the sceneries in places around the world seem similar nowadays. What are the causes of these similarities? Do you think that the advantages of these similarities outweigh the disadvantages?

In the old days, cities were very unique with their own distinguished features, so people used to travel abroad to see various designs different from their home. However, at the moment, architectural styles are becoming similar. The main reasons for this are globalization which assimilate cultural identity, additionally, compactness of modern buildings . Although new designs of buildings cover less areas, it can lead to loss of cultural identity and heat island effect.

Globalization caused many problems, not only assimilation of languages and traditional foods of nations but also similarity in architecture of buildings in cities all over the world. This happens because all people strive to the one standard which is considered ideal. For example, the first glass skyscraper was built in Chicago in the 19th century, when the process of globalization had already started due to enhanced transportation. This led to the widespread popularity of glass tall buildings, as architects could travel and adjust such designs to their own countries. What is more, modern designs of buildings can be similar as they shape compactness.

Despite the compactness of similar buildings, this trend can be very disadvantageous due to loss of distinctiveness in various cities, in addition, modern styles of buildings lead to heat island effect. The majority of buildings in the world are glass skyscrapers; they contribute to the heat effect which is named the heat island effect. For instance, the average temperature in cities is much higher than in rural areas, this is referred to as the material of modern buildings. Therefore, less build-up land cover does not outweigh the negative consequences of these buildings such as the rise of temperature.

To sum up, globalization resulted in the proliferation of similar architectural styles. Cities started losing their uniqueness and cultural identity. Undeniably, this type of building requires less land, however, this leads to global warming which is much more dangerous for the whole world.