In today’s world, many people use mobile phones and the Internet to communicate with others. This has resulted in the use of new words and different forms of spelling and grammar. Are they positive or negative development?

In recent years, the widespread usage of smartphones and the Web has significantly influenced the way people communicate. This digital transformation has led to the development of new vocabulary and abbreviations, and changed existing grammar structures and word spelling. These modifications have occurred due to evolving communication habits, and in my opinion, they are generally negative.

The primary reason for this change is the desire to speed online communication. People tend to shorten words, use emojis instead of long sentences, or eliminate grammar rules in order to send dozens of messages faster. It is practical and even graphical, for instance, to send an emoji of a thumb up to cheer or praise someone, saving time, instead of writing a message “Cool!”.

Despite the popularity of the modern way of chatting, I believe that it negatively affects communication. Firstly, it leads to a decline in language accuracy, especially among young people who grow up using digital slang. The majority of teenagers in Russia, as an example, are not sure how the full forms of words are spelled correctly due to overuse of their short or slang forms. Secondly, the tendency to spam with emojis and trend expressions can create confusion or misinterpretation, especially in formal or international contexts where clarity is essential. Although, in recent decades, the process of globalization has been initiated, there are still some cultural differences even in the way of emoji sending. In arab countries, comparing with Europe and America, the well-known laughing emoji is used for the expression of cry and sadness.

In conclusion, the changes in grammar and spelling caused by the rise of digital communication have happened mainly because of the need for speed. However, in my opinion, these changes can be assessed as a negative development.