Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the excessive reliance on transportation, the amount of traffic and pollution problems has risen considerably in many big cities.It is suggested that increasing the price of petrol is one of the effective ways to address such issues,while I believe that there are other major factors that can help to mitigate traffic and pollution problems

Proponents of rising petrol price cite various reasons to support their stance.When petrol price is increased in big cities, the amount of congestions and pollutions on roads will shrink visibly, which can positively affect citiesʼ infrastructure. By enhancing infrastructure in metropolises, governments can provide their residents with better living standards.Due to traffic and pollution related issues, cities are not able to improve medical services and education.In this case, increasing the price of petrol not only works better help to address traffic jams and pollutions,but also mitigate issues associated with healthcare system and education.Thus, this action should be encouraged widely in many cities.

On the other hand, rising awareness among people and improving the roads in urban areas can carry greater weight.If government officials rise awareness among people about traffic and pollution related issues by organizing different campaigns and sessions,then they will become environmentally friendly and try to reduce their heavy dependency on transport services,which can be effective in terms of solving such issues .Additionally , a number of roads in cities do not meet the expections of drivers,which create a long traffics on roads.This is because roads should be widened and reconstructed effectively in order to tackle traffic jams.For example, New Zealand in the USA spends a huge amount of financial resources on the reconstructions of roads every year,where traffic congestions and jams are less than other cities.To add , traffic lights should also be replaced on observed roads where traffic jams are high and constant, allowing people to commute to work and study without congestions.

In conclusion, although rising the price of petrol can mitigate gridlocks and pollutions in cities, I support the view that public awareness and yearly road maintenance can work better when it comes to mitigate pollutions, congestions and gridlocks in urban areas.