Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing trafic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective.

There is this believe that raising the price of petrol could effectively tackle the issue of traffic and pollution. Although I firmly agree with that, I believe that there are other solutions that might help, such as making public transports free for all people.

To begin with, traffic recently has become a major problem worldwide, especially in the capital cities since the population are increasing. Serious measures should be taken such as doubling the petrol expenses, that way less people will drive cars, and due to the prices not everyone would be able to own a car. If that happened, naturally traffic might become less. Instead people would be forced to ride public transports instead. Moreover, this might also aid the government to reduce oil extraction. This process generate huge amounts of pollution, and in order to lower the toxic gasses, less extraction needed.

As mentioned, one of the primary reasons of pollution are using cars. To tackle this problem governments should make public transports free. This might encourage individuals to use them rather than their cars. This may reduce the congestion in the city center. If making it free will affect the country economic negatively, then maybe reducing ticket prices can be the solution, especially for elderly people, in order to prevent them from using cars.

In conclusion, although I agree that increasing petrol expenses may aid to improve the congestion and environmental pollution problem over the world, improving the public transports and encouraging citizens to ride them might also be a solution for this problem.