Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing trafic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective.

The price of petrol has increased, as people think this is the most effective way to resolve increasing traffic and pollution issues. While some people see this as a fitting solution, I believe this solution has little effect on citizens. Some citizens seek carpooling, which might solve traffic problems or even manage their budgets to accommodate the price changes; however, it won’t solve pollution problems. I believe other solutions might address such issues, for instance, encouraging electric cars and improving public transportation.

In the past, only men were allowed to drive, but now, women and young adults (starting at 18 years old) are permitted to drive as well, which doubles the traffic. Some people assume that increasing petrol prices might address this crisis. However, in this economy where everything required for human survival is expensive, citizens have no other option except adjusting their budgets to fill their car tanks, and others might seek carpooling. For instance, in Egypt, when petrol prices jumped from 12.50 pounds to 17.50, we had no other option except cutting out on other expenses like eating in restaurants; only then were we able to afford the gas. Other times, I had to carpool with friends to go to university, since I was unable to afford the car expenses.

I believe there are other methods that could work efficiently, such as encouraging people to use electric or hybrid cars like BYD or KIA Sportage, as they provide less to no pollution. Building electric stations every 2 to 3 kilometers to make sure these cars are charged when needed allows for less pollution and more safety, since they are less prone to flames, and it’s much more affordable. Additionally, introducing safe and affordable public transportation. In addition, building metros and bus stations where each has its own lane is a favorable option.

In conclusion, there are assumptions that increasing the price of gas will resolve the issues of pollution and road traffic. I disagree, as most of the population tend to manage their budgets to accommodate the price changes. I think that electric vehicles and safe public transportation will have a much greater effect than manipulating prices.