Intelligence is the most important factor for a leader. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is common knowledge that a good leader should possess a wide range of qualities to lead their team successfully. However, there is a view that the most prominent characteristic that makes a leader stand out is intelligence. While the part played by intelligence is undeniable for effective leadership, I would argue that it is not the most essential quality, for other personality traits are equally crucial.

On the one hand, intelligence is of course essential to guide a team to the right path. One aspect of the workplace where intelligence is vital is decision-making, particularly when recruitment and finances are concerned. For example, it is important to scrutinize a potential worker’s background, since their fidelity to the executive and the company can determine the difference between success and failure. Similarly, a leader’s insensible decision to purchase new equipment for office workers when credit payments due can damage the company’s financial health, thereby putting the continuity of operations at risk. Another area where intelligence plays a key role is strategic planning for the future. Since leaders bear full responsibility for their businesses, careful analysis of current trends, and based upon them setting new goals is essential. Were it not for high intelligence of leaders, businesses would run the risk of failing to keep up with their competitors and going bankrupt.

Nevertheless, the notion that being intelligent is the most essential quality for successful leadership is a downright overstatement in my view. If leaders are not willing to show commitment and go the extra mile, then they are not setting a good example for the rest of the team. This is likely to affect the team spirit, lowering internal drive in the company and hence productivity. Consequently, this laid back attitude can bring about lower output, unmet deadlines and dissatisfied customers, negatively impacting on the company reputation. Additionally, expecting leaders to adopt a positive mindset is extremely important. Since work is full of vicissitudes, conflicts and resentment, there should be someone who can cheer up the team and spread positive energy no matter what. This, in turn, serves as a boost in morale in times of difficulty and keeps the team on track.

In summary, leaders should be intelligent for different reasons, ranging from effective decision-making to planning for the future. However, I am of the view that it is not the key to successful leadership, because demonstrating diligence together with adopting a positive frame of mind are no less important factors for company heads.