Is mental strength important for success in sport or is it more important to be strong and fit for success in sport? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A growing number of individuals today believe that mental health is important for success in sports, while others argue that physical strength contributes most to an athlete’s success. From a personal perspective, although physical health plays an important role in success in sports, I consider that athlete’s mental strength is more crucial.

The importance of physical strength for success in sports is countless. To begin with, good physical well-being can prevent athletes from diseases and injuries. For example, research in 2020 shows that athletes who always take care of their bodies by doing a workout every morning, have a little chance of getting injuries when competing at high levels. Therefore, these athletes would have more opportunities to pursue their passion and achieve their goals. In addition, good physical fitness could lead to a better athlete’s performance. In fact, athletes in basketball or martial arts, who have better physical conditions such as height or muscle mass, usually outplay their opponents. As a result, they could easily win and gain attention from the public.

However, mental well-being also plays a crucial role in an athlete’s success. Firstly, it could boost an athlete’s mood in practice and competition. This is because athletes frequently have to practice with high intensity, and their body usually overloaded after training, leading to exhaustion and a lack of motivation. By enhancing athletes’ mental health, it motivates them to practice effectively and perform well in tournaments. Secondly, good mental strength could reduce athlete’s depression and anxiety. For instance, a 2019 study shows that 75% of elite athletes often meet psychologists to get advice to cope with mental issues, having little chance of getting depression and anxiety. Consequently, they can maintain good mental well-being during competitions and achieve high levels of success.

In conclusion, although physical health is important for success in sports with benefits such as better performance and injury prevention as I described above, I still believe that mental well-being is more essential.