It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

These days, there is a wider choice for customers than ever before. People have endless opportunities to buy items from huge supermarkets or purchase them from various online shops. However, these modern ways of selling goods create a list of challenges for small local shops and local communities.

One of the biggest problems for local stores today is the price difference. In other words, due to the fact that chain stores provide their customers with a large amount of products, they can sell goods with a really small profit margin. Also, online markets usually sell cheaper products because they are not obligated to spend money on renting the room. On the contrary, local sellers retail their products with higher prices in order to gain profit.

Another serious issue is that the supermarkets have an extremely wide range of items, so that is why they are more widespread among citizens. It is easier and more convenient to find necessary products in one shop than visit several local stores to buy something. Finally, chain stores and large markets are located in enormously huge and widespread shopping malls which are usually full of people and potential customers. Subsequently, more individuals might notice the products and become interested in buying it.

To solve these problems, society should be encouraged to buy from local businesses. Firstly, the main support for local markets should be from the government. For example, the authorities might provide small businessmen with tax breaks and incentives so they might be able to compete with their larger rivals. Also, citizens should buy more products from local stores and talk more about their benefits and useful qualities.

In conclusion, small local shops make our cities unique, and without them there is a possibility for community of losing the sense of identity. Both the government and the citizens should work together to support local businesses and preserve the markets diversity of their towns.