It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

Globalisation has impacted consumption patterns mainly by promoting supermarkets and on-line shopping around the world. This has affected local businesses which face great difficulties to compete with international and national companies. In this essay, I will assess the main consequences this brings for small shops and suggest solutions to alleviate this problem.

First and foremost, the lower costs and variability on products found in supermarket and on-line platforms, make this businesses especially actractive for customers. As a result, fewer people purchase items from small shops, which hinders the profitability of community shops. This means that the benefits rendered by them do not make up for the significant expenses of paying for rent, bills, and manufacturing of the products they sell. Consequently, these shops are forced to shut down reducing the number of services offered in urbanizations, affecting, in turn, the overall economy of the country as the production of national products is halted.

A compelling solution to this issue is for the government to allocate economic resources to enhance financially the productivity of local shops. Moreover, campains to encourage citizens to shop in this places should be put in place to cultivate a sense of community and sustainability in the consumption market. Furthermore, local businesess generally use eco-friendly products, which could be use as a marketing strategy to promote environmentally friendly shopping.

In conclusion, the large variation and less costly products in global markets and on-line websites negatively impact the success of local shops, affecting as well to national industries who export these products to small shops. In addition, measures can be taken to overcome this situation such as financial aid and marketing advertaising.