It has been suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, there has been a proposal for a new mandatory course in which students take lessons on how to grow vegetables and raise animals. It is believed that this new action will have some drawbacks for the students. Nevertheless, I believe this phenomenon may bring more benefits for the development of children than its disadvantages.

There are two drawbacks that arise when students learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Firstly, it is not suitable for urban children because they may have difficulty in raising livestock, especially since most of them are unable to have pets. Thus, they can not apply this knowledge and will rapidly forget it, which leads to waste of time. Secondly, learning new skills may create new stress for students. High school kids are already under pressure to perform well in their exams, thus schools should not burden them more. Students’ objection to the home economics subject is a sufficient example to illustrate this point.

However, this idea is beneficial for the primary children in various aspects of life. The first benefit is to develop a connection with nature. Caring for plants and animals helps children to learn about the natural world and to evolve a sense of responsibility and respect for living things. Furthermore, children connecting with the natural world usually have appreciation of life and get a positive outlook before circumstance. Secondly, children can learn various valuable life skills. Due to lessons from gardening and animal husbandry teaching them skills such as problem-solving, patience and perseverance, they may learn how to work hard and to achieve their goals. Finally, this idea can teach them a lesson about sustainability and environmental stewardship. Through the process of gardening and raising animals, children can raise awareness of environmental issues on Earth.

In conclusion, I strongly believe the advantages of the idea that children should learn how to grow plants and keep animals outweigh its drawbacks. Thanks to these benefits which phenomenon brings for the children, they can have a development in skills and mental life.