It is a good idea for people to continue working in their old age if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In this modern era of change in norms and cultures the senior citizens are also now adopting to these changes and are eager to contribute the society. It is being considered that people should keep on working in the late years of their lives. In my opinion I strongly agree with this concept and in this essay I will support my argument.

Firstly, to carry on working in older years can keep one fit and prevent them from fatal diseases. Studies have shown that as people reach their senior years they tend to become sicker than the previous years of their lives, this is solely because they tend to stop working, leading to various complications. However, if it is feasible for the senior citizens to work then only they should do so.

Secondly, one of the main problems faced by the elderly is the source of income due to which they become highly dependent on their offsprings, so in order to avoid this issue they should continue to do work suitable to their age. For instance, some people do not have their immediate families to give support to them in their later years so working is the only way out for them.

On the other hand, there are some individuals that disagree with the concept of working at older age. They believe that it could be dangerous for the elderly to work, because they might not be able to protect themselves from risky situations. Also, it is considered that they might be an obstacle to the speed of work and might slow down the process.

To sum up, I am in agreement of the statement that people should work in their older years if they are capable of doing so. As it is beneficial for the senior citizens to continue working even after their retirement years to remain healthy and to provide for themselves.