It is believed that the STEM disciplines (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) are becoming more and more popular among high school and university students. What might be the reasons for this?

These days it is considered by many that STEM disciplines raise in popularity among youngsters. This essay will discuss some factors that might influence this phenomenon, such as professional prospects and versatility of such subjects.

First of all, STEM disciplines are known to be perspective. It means, that after studying them people will be likely to get a well-paid job in the field of IT or engineering. This lucidity results in more and more students feeling a desire to get money for their living, while STEM disciplines seem to be one of the most beneficial options for these people. Gor instance, in Russia there is a tendency of the last decade to study STEM subjects not only because of the lack of professionals with these skills, but also due to these subjects robust popularity among employers.

Moreover it is worth mentioning that these subjects are really useful in the diverse spheres of the life. It means, that skills gained while studying STEM disciplines might be used almost everywhere, and it results in the myriad of vacancies being availiable for people. More than that, subjects form the STEM list are much less abstract than a great number of other disciplines, and it makes them much more understendable than, for example, philosophy without right or wrong answers. For example, my mother, who studied all the STEM subjects while being a scholar, has changed a lot of jobs during her life, and these jobs have been from various areas. It means, that masters with STEM skills are bound to find an appropriate job everywhere thanks to the range of skills provided.

To conclude, from my point of view there are several significant advantages of choosing STEM subjects, such as prospects and lucidity they provide people with.