It is believed that the STEM disciplines (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) are becoming more and more popular among high school and university students. What might be the reasons for this?

Nowadays many people claim that high school and university prefer to choose to study STEM disciplines more and more often. This essay will discover the reasons of this situation, such as higher salary and less competetivness in profession connected with STEM discipline.

To begin with, one of the main reason to choose STEM disciplines by students is that professions which are intertwined with STEM offer much higher amount of money for their future career. The majority of people, especially students, want to earn a lot of money and live with no restrinctions. For insctance, the IT-specialist can be paid aproximately ten times as high as teacher. Money is one of the key to successful life of everyone’s dream. Thus, more and more students tend to make their career choice in favour of money.

Furthemore, the second reason is a low competitivness in such sphere as science, technology, engineering and mathematics, because not everyone have opportunites and desire to learn such difficult discipline. Students understand that there are so many experts in economy, marketing, languages, etc., but the only few professionalists in STEM discipline. People with STEAM’s knowledge is so demanded, that studets can always have a well-paid job everywhere they want. For example, it can be seen from every researching conected with HR that there are a lack of experts in STEM discipline.

Overall, it is undeniable that STEM descipline become more and more popular. It may happend due to high salary which suggests the labour market and low competetivness since STEM disciplines are one of the most complicated discipline to learn and be successful.