It is better to learn the way people lived in the past through films and video records than written documents. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Environment plays a fundamental role in human lives. It could affect both of our physical and emotional conditions. As the number of people is continuously increasing and the developments nowadays, such as the technology and industrial inventions, become more advanced, it could not be denied that our environment in general gets affected. There are many movements around the world to save and keep the environment. However, there are some opinions that state individuals cannot do anything to improve it, because only governments or big corporations can make big changes for the environment. I personally think that is not the case. I believe that every act to improve the environment matters, regardless whether it is from people, governments, or companies.

People can start making a difference to improve the environment by doing simple things. Some of the examples are recycling, using reusable stuff, and bringing their own water bottles when they go outside. Based on these illustrations, people could reduce the number of trash that might go directly to the landfill. Some people could also save the environment by reducing the number of carbon produced by using public transportation and doing urban gardening or farming at home or office to save food distribution traveling distance. By doing so together, it could lead to a bigger positive impact to the environment.

On the other hand, it is clear that governments and big companies have bigger roles in making the environment better. They are able to make policies and execute them into actions on a greater scale. For example, the governments could make regulations regarding water usage, waste processing, farming, etc., to make sure that, in general, there will be minimal negative effects on the environment. Similar policies could also be developed by the stakeholders in the big corporations, so that their companies run without harming the environment or at least giving the least number of impacts to it.

To conclude, individuals can do anything to make the environment better starting from something small in their surroundings. In the sense of greater scale, people, governments and large companies can work together to improve the quality of the environment and get bigger changes.