It is common aspiration among many young people to run their own business,rather than work for an employer. Do you think the advantages of working for yourself outweigh the drawbacks?

It depends on one’s mindset whether they want to work for others or be their own boss. In my opinion, I think the advantages of working for my own outweigh the limitations. I will delve into this topic and explain my reasons.

Working for oneself is good because you can try to seize opportunities in your life to become successful. I know setting up a business does not mean you will become successful or wealthy, but at least you try. For example, I created my own business when I was 25 years old and incurred losses in the first two years and started to earn in the third year onward. It is not an easy road to success, but I feel it’s worth our effort because we have more control and can earn more if we work harder. However, we typically earn a fixed salary if we are employed by others.

Another advantage of having your own business is that we can work and retire whenever we want and we are not subjected to retrenchment. For example, many enterprises retrench staff due to market uncertainty, and the laid-off employees are out of jobs, which leads to financial strain for many households. If you have your own business, which may provide you with a steady income regardless of the economic conditions, given that your business is earning a profit.

Lastly, I know starting a business does not guarantee success, and I know some people are losing money with their businesses too. But, I feel our life is short; hence, we should try to achieve our aspirations just like the well-known basketball legend, Michael Jordan, once quoted, ‘I can accept failure, but I can never accept it if I never try.’ As said, I opine that working for myself is better.