It is important to give children the chance to act independently and make their own decisions from early age. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

There is a proposal that independence should be given for children in the case of acting and making decisions from early age. Although these children can be risky for their future decisions as well as they can face social challenges, I think that it can also contribute to the development of responsibility and problem-solving skills in children.

To begin with, the freedom to make decisions in children can be detrimental for their future career. This is because it is the fact that, with children being less experienced and knowledge in life, it is likelihood of making wrong decisions in terms of future goals or careers. This, as a result, can lead to several problems in the work and even life. Another concerning issue by letting children to be independent is associated with difficulties in society. To explain further, as it mentioned above, if children in the future would have to work with team or cooperative, which they don’t expect as they are used to be independent, they are more likely to encounter such challenges to work with teams or build cooperative relationships.

Despite the fact that allowing children to be independent can lead to the likelihood of stumbling the future decisions and encounter the social difficulties, I personally consider that advancement of responsibility and problem-solving skills comes through this. Firstly, when children are self-governed to do everything ranging from decisions to feed themselves, they start to feel more responsible to make plans or feed themselves, which means that this is likely to contribute to finding their way in the future. Additionally, another merit of being independent is having the opportunities to improve problem-solving skills. This is because, in the situations when parents let everything to children themselves, they become better at thinking critically and finding solutions. This, as a result, is the likelihood of addressing all problems, whether it is work or life.

In conclusion, while letting children to be independent is creating risk to make wrong decisions in the future and face social problems, I personally think that it can be beneficial for development of children’s problem-solving skills and responsibility.