It is necessary for parents to attend a parenting training course to bring their children up. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Parenting is perhaps the greatest and most sophisticated responsibility in our life and mistakes and incorrect decisions made by parents can ruin a family as well as the future of a child. Since many young people become parents and the number of nuclear families is on the rise, many experts emphasize the importance of parenting courses for both fathers and mothers. I personally agree with this notion as I believe that such sessions would be immensely helpful.

To commence with, proper parenting requires a great deal of knowledge and dedication. Sometimes minor negligence and lack of knowledge can lead to catastrophic outcomes. For instance, if busy parents forget to vaccinate a newborn, that would jeopardize the offspring’s life. Similarly, many parents believe in silly superstitions that influence them to make bad choices. If those parents attend a course where experts share their opinions on different aspects of child fostering and proper parenting, they would be highly benefitted. For example, my cousin Paula, who became a mother a few months ago believed that her child had a problem with digestion and needed medical attention. However, it was revealed that the way she fed her daughter was not correct. I believe that a suitable course that brings out different aspects of upbringing a child, both moral and practical aspects, would prove to be important for newly become parents.

Moreover, the increasing trends of single parents and nuclear families lack the expert opinion of grandparents, unlike in the past. This is why the need for such parenting sessions is even more prevalent in modern times. Such sessions bring parents together, let them share their views, form a social relationship and help people learn aspects of their personal prejudices. This is a great way to educate the “to-be-parents”, and “newly-become-parents” to learn more about the practical aspects of parenting. It also makes a better society, in a broader sense.

To conclude, being informed and educated parents is an important aspect of becoming good parents. Since parenting courses help people in a diverse way, it is indeed a good idea for people to participate in such courses.