It is neither nor useful to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are differing opinions on the accessibility of the tertiary education to the majority of young people. From my viewpoint, dispensing university educational services on such a large scale brings about no practical values to society, and also, it is rather unfeasible to carry out this policy due to financial problems and labor market conditions.

First, the government is not able to provide free university education to all young people due to financial pressures. For example, in Vietnam, most universities have been financially independent leading to exorbitant education costs; therefore, providing free higher education requires significant investments in infrastructure, faculty and other resources. Additionally, not all young people need a college degree so governments could offer other forms of training such as career instruction, technical training, or vocational certification instead of solely focusing on tertiary education.

Second, labor market conditions are a crucial factor that makes it impossible to access all young people to universities. If everyone could gain admittance to college, it would lead to imbalances in the workforce that would greatly damage economic structure. It is because there is little chance that university graduates would choose blue-collar jobs such as working in factories. This is also why some countries such as Germany, Switzerland, and Korea invest more in vocational education, which not only helps young people learn the skills they need but also provides practical training experience.

In conclusion, I strongly oppose the idea of supplying entry to a high proportion of young people owing to financial problems and labor market conditions.