It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The topic of allowing scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South Pole, has garnered significant attention in contemporary society. This practice has several advantages such as improving mental health and developing better environment and species conservation strategies. However, there are also some disadvantages including the destruction of habitats and its effects on scientific researches. This essay will first elaborate on the benefits and drawbacks of the issue before drawing a reasoning conclusion.

There are several advantages to letting tourists and scientists journey to natural habitats. A convincing argument is it will better the mental health of individuals. Moving away from the bustling urban areas and escaping the trappings of modern capitalism, people will have the opportunity to reconnect with nature and relax. For instance, spending time in natural settings that are less affected by urbanization or admiring the beautiful scenery of nature has been shown to boost serotonin levels and reduces anxiety and stress. Additionally, from a scientific point of view, enabling researchers to work in the natural habitats of species allows for more accurate observations of the animals. This enhanced understanding can help governments and organizations develop more effective strategies to protect and conserve these species and their environments.

On the contrary, it is undeniable that there are also disadvantages that come with allowing all unrestricted access to remote environments, such as potential habitat destruction. Humans tendencies towards littering and environmental ignorance means that it is guaranteed that there will be traces of plastics and other manufactured items that inevitably ruin the pristine natural landscapes. Not to mention that these man-made objects will be mistaken as foods by animals, leading to choking or injury. From a scientific standpoint, such practices not only harm wildlife and the environment but also compromise the accuracy and quality of scientific samples, ultimately slowing down research progress on protecting species and biodiversity on Earth.

To conclude, despite there are some positive sides to consenting tourists to visit remote natural places, the negative consequences outweigh these benefits. Therefore, I believe that only scientists and researchers with knowledge of how to minimize their impact on living areas of other species should be allowed access, and solely for research purposes.