It is often said that retirement is the happiest time of a person’s life. How far do you agree with this view?

Some people often says that retirement is the happiest time of a person’s life. However, with the challenges and opportunities, it seems to me as the toughest time in life.

On the one hand, retired people have to deal with lots of health problems. Then, it is not easy to taking care of them. We have to keep an eye on them all the time. However, the second factor would be the financial instability. When a person is getting older and retiring from their job, they would have to face lots of financial problems. So then, they could not be able to enjoy their retired life as their younger life. Moreover, sometimes with these restrictions and challenges, retired people have to face their children’s problems as well. Evidence for this can be stated as, in some Europe countries, when parents getting older, the children hire a person to look after their parents and keep them in elderly house. The children could not be able to stay away from their parents since some children still depending on their parents.

It is true that there are some positives in retirements such as they can stay with their grandchildren. It seems that grandparent would like to stay with their grand children because it reduce grand parent’s stress and depression situations.

When taking everything into consideration it appears that retirement can be a contended period of their life and as well as the worst time period of their life. However, It seems to me that there are more cons than pros in this situation.